Sprocket size for Wheelies

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2004, 12:06 PM

IronDove is an unknown quantity at this point
Sprocket size for Wheelies

Hey all, I'm a newbie here on the site and on the road. This is my first year riding. I have a 1987 Honda CBR600 Hurricane and I am already standing on my seat, dragging feet and knees, trying stoppies (pittiful right now) and Wheelies. (How I can I add pics of my little adventures by the way?) Right now though, I am concentrating on my wheelies. I'm having some trouble though. When I clutch it up in first gear, (which is the only way and gear) I can only get it about a foot off the ground. I even tried lowering my back tire to 15psi. How effective is rocking the bike? Also, I have a stock sprocket on the back. (I'm gonna see if I can count the teeth cause I don't have specs on me) I was thinking about getting a bigger sprocket. How many more teeth should I go? And how much will this drop my top speed? (Not that it matters much). I just wanna get that sucka up and keep it up for good. Hopefully without having to rock it.
Old 10-19-2004, 12:11 PM

catach42 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Sprocket size for Wheelies

Originally Posted by IronDove