technique or power??

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2004, 10:11 PM

stunterd is an unknown quantity at this point
technique or power??

Well I have been stunting my 600rr for the last cppl months. With the stock gearing and I can do a number of tricks including highchairs and spreaders, there not all that great I'm just starting to be able to keep my wheelies at bp. I've always told everyone that I talk to that you do not need a 1k to stunt. Just practice. Well today some guys started watching me and told me to try they bikes a 96 900rr and a 02 gsx-r 1000 now this is my first time actually riding a 1000. Well Holy crap is all I can say. Not only is it easier to bring it up but it does make first gear scary. Where as on my rr first gear actually feels like a mix between 2nd and 3rd on the gix. The gix was so powerful that I didn't like clutching it up in 1st only roll on (not power it just needed me to roll on the throttle) I found I could be more relaxed and do a better wheely on these bikes. I easily found bp felt more stable there and was able to push it past bp with ease on these bikes. everything felt more stable. There was something wrong with the 900rr though valves were ticking pretty bad and after about 30 mins of me riding it was hard to clutch it up more than a foot in 1st so I just stuck to the gix 1k. within 20 minutes I was doing spreaders at bp (something I have never been able to do before) and highchairs at bp and keep it there again a first. Bp didn't seem as high on this bike either! I was so excited about riding this thing.

Now my question is a different 600 hun going to fell as balanced as these. Is it just the front heavyness of my bike that makes it that much harder.

I always laughed when ppl told me that the 600rr is no good for stunts but I could rip it up on it. now that I have stunted other bikes my bike feels like gaabage for stunts.