frustrated with standups

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2003, 01:03 PM

red96camaro is an unknown quantity at this point
frustrated with standups

I'm a newbie stunter for sure. Only a couple months into it but I've got popping and riding out wheelies pretty much down. Even fooling with the rear break a bit lately to get a feel for it. But I can't hit a standup for ****! I know it's basic for so many of you but I seriously need some pointers. It's really frustrating me. Everytime I try to stand up in the wheelie it drops down and everytime I start standing I can barely get the front end up. Anyone got some suggestions?
Old 08-07-2003, 02:30 PM

only1adrian is an unknown quantity at this point
IM in the same situation that you are in exactly. What i did realize is that it is to hard to stand up halfway through the wheelie. All i did yesterday was practice bouncing it up un second already standing a nd snap the throttle. over twenty tries, i got the wheel up twice. I guess all i can do it practice. but try bouncing because it felt a lot more comfortable that way
Old 08-07-2003, 02:40 PM

JKewLr6 is an unknown quantity at this point
go 50mph, stand up, roll the throttle to about 55 WHILE you are rolling the throttle give the pegs a good hard Bounce the bike will compress when its at the bottem of the compression give it alot of throttle. and dont lean over the front so much. if it still does not come up work on throttle timing when u bounce.
Old 08-07-2003, 02:44 PM

TLRmikeC is an unknown quantity at this point
most people tend to lean forward when they are learning stand ups, it should come right up if you arent leaning forward
Old 08-07-2003, 03:37 PM

Yechidah is an unknown quantity at this point
Just a couple of things I noticed when I first started learning stand ups.