Yet Another Balance Point ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2003, 12:04 AM

Cbr600F4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Yet Another Balance Point ?

im new to doin wheelies .. i got a cbr 600 f4 ... i got two questions, the first is what is the best way to get used to where the bp is and how much gas to use to keep it up ... it seems like no matter how much gas i give it, it just comes right back down and if i give it too much on the way up im convinced im gonna flip ...

my next question is what is the best way to go about doing wheelies standing on the rear pegs? ... i think id be more comfortable if i were standing up ... should i put my feet on the pegs before i try to lift it up or after? ...

by the way if it matters i use the clutchin it method ... thnx for the help its appreciated ....
Old 06-02-2003, 05:02 AM
Regular StuntLifer

H00KED is an unknown quantity at this point
I'm a newb so take what I say very very lightly.
This is what I've experienced so far:

Sit downs for the most part feel the "safest"
Every now and then you may do a stand up that feels aight too
I don't think standing on the rear pegs is going to be a good idea if you are just starting out....

I started out doing only power wheelies in 1st.
Then rode them out in 1st and shifted into 2nd keeping it up.
Now I'm clutching it up in 2nd and working on kicking it into 3rd.

When I try to bring it up while standing I don't have a good idea of how high I am b/c I'm used to sit downs....From what I've read it's best to do stand ups b/c it's easier to hold once you get it to the balance point. But don't do anything that doesn't feel "right" to you....and most importantly TAKE YOUR TIME. I have to keep telling myself that last one...lol

Oh and scan through the pages - there are lots of threads on wheelies in this section.

Good luck -
Old 06-02-2003, 03:08 PM

ZeroGravity is an unknown quantity at this point
my 2 cents