2001 honda cbr runs rich, pure gasoline in exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2007, 06:39 PM

clifton2137 is a decent person
Unhappy 2001 honda cbr runs rich, pure gasoline in exhaust

Hey guys, im new to this whole forum thing I could really use some advice. I have a 2001 honda cbr f4i with aftermarket exhaust and a powercommander. a few days ago i put a bottle of fuel injector cleaner into my full gas tank (like an idiot) ust in spite of wanting to see if I could get any performance out of it. I drove about 130 miles and refilled my gas tank. About 20 minutes after my refill i found myself on the side of the road watching gasoline pour out of where the exhuast pipe attaches to the slip-on. I trailered it home and check out the air filter, emptied the exhaust and took all of the gas out of the gas tank and let the bike run dry. I put about a 1/2 gallon of regular in and it was running like a dream. Once i got to the gas station i only put plus in cuz i was afraid there still might be some injector cleaner in the system. after leaving th egas station i once again pulled over and watched the gasoline pour out the bottom of the exhaust.

when i got home i did it all again and found out my oil was 50/50 of gasoline and oil and was no thicker than water. I dont know how or why this is happening, but I know it has to do with the injectr cleaner.

Any advice is helpful, im thinking the injector cleaner ate thro seals? burned a valve? I'm going to change the plugs and see if that will help. perhaps a cylinder isnt working and spitting gasoline out?

thanks alot for taking the time to help me out guys.

~aL
Old 06-16-2007, 06:45 PM

Righteous 1 has a spectacular aura aboutRighteous 1 has a spectacular aura about
Re: 2001 honda cbr runs rich, pure gasoline in exhaust