Newbie wheelie question

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2005, 11:35 PM

macd7919 is an unknown quantity at this point
Newbie wheelie question

Hey whats up everyone, ok here's the deal. I'm a newb so take it easy on the flaming at least let me get 10 posts first, lol. Anyways, I have been trying to do stand ups on my 04 gixxer 1000 and just can't get it. I can do sit downs fine but I can't carry them much further than what I can power through in first gear. I know my problem is probably not getting to the balance point from what I have read on other posts. It just seems like it's way far back (high) I get to the point where I feel that uneasy feeling that the bike is tipping backwards if you can identify with what I mean. I have tried scooting back in the seat a little bit and that def. helps but I'm still not rockin them forever like most of you guys. I have tried standups and they just feel super awkward. This may be a stupid question but do you guys stand up befor you start getting the bike up? I have tried the foot on the rear peg method, other foot covering the brake and it feels really awkward also. I'm a big guy (about 260), some of you will say lose weight I'm sure and I'm working on it but ****! I want to ride wheelies now, haha. Anyways, any tips would be great! Also one more thing, I have tried to clutch it up in first standing and the rear tire just spins, bike may come up a little but i get mostly wheelspin, so again any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!
Old 10-07-2005, 12:50 AM
JB

JB is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Newbie wheelie question

practice practice practice. and then practice some more. and get a mate to film u. what ur feeling is always different to what u look like IMO. and always cover that rear brake. hope this helps. my
Old 10-07-2005, 03:00 AM

aw0n0 can only hope to improve