keeping Standups going

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2005, 07:10 AM

frazla is an unknown quantity at this point
keeping Standups going

Im a newbie to stuntin, ive read the wheelie post which helped a lot. Practice over the last few weeks has got my sit downs and standups good, the problem is keeping them going for a long time, I'm running out of revs. I ride a 99 f4 and am using 2nd gear, its all stock.

Anyone know what i gotta do to keep them going

Old 04-04-2005, 07:21 AM

stunt1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: keeping Standups going

Ride 'em higher.Be careful.
Old 04-04-2005, 09:44 AM

They are usualy higher than in the pic, think im just comin up
Old 04-04-2005, 10:02 AM

onsighter514d is an unknown quantity at this point

Get it higher, the higher you are the slower your revs will climb. You want to get to Balance Point.
Old 04-04-2005, 10:07 AM

John LegionST is a decent person

if you are gaining rpms then you aren't high enough. You need to cover the rear brake, standing offset (left foot on passenger peg) helps take some weight off your hands. you can actually go PAST BP and scrub speed once you haev it down good. Work on trying to ride at a constant rpm, not too high though, try around 8-9K. Good luck, take your time and be safe! post back with progess or questions
Old 04-04-2005, 10:17 AM
FHL
I Chose to No Longer Post

FHL is a decent person

I would suggest learning first gear, it will teach you to hit bp and keep it there, once you can go far in first gear without revving out you can launch it in 2nd and ride it forever.
Old 04-04-2005, 10:31 AM

very true and maybe a good idea, it hurts a lot less when you fall goin 30mph instead of 65mph or faster!

remember to cover the rear brake, and you don't need to stab it when you come back far, just tap it and maybe drag it for a few feet till the front end comes down a bit

Stay away from the mousetrap!!! lol