Detroit Street Ryders Photo Gallery
www.detroitstreetryders.com
Detroit, MI

Snow mobile help

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2004, 12:49 PM

919rider is an unknown quantity at this point
Snow mobile help

My family just acquired a '94 Polaris Indy Storm 800 this weekend. My sister-in-law borrowed the sled and crashed it into a tree (she survived, 7 broken ribs, bruised liver, hole in her lung, broken wrist, concussion). My family is obviously going to buy the sled from her friend, and as the resident mechanic, I get to fix it.

I've never worked on or ridden a sled before (or a two-stroke), so I've got some learning to do. I've got a lot of experience with motorcycles, cars, trucks, and Naval pumps and turbines, so I'm pretty handy with a wrench.

First: Who makes the best manual? How much? Cheapest place to get it?

Second: It looks like I'll need to replace both ski's, and the majority of the right, front suspension. I assume that there are alternatives other than stock. What are they? Where can I get the best bang for my buck? What should I get (since I'll be replacing anyways) to make a better/more responsive sled?

Third: I'll need to repair/replace the hood. Its dented and cracked. Looks like its fiberglass. Is it repairable? If not, where do I get a hood? Is OEM the only option? I know that the aftermarket makes skins for race motorcycles, is there something similar for snowmobiles?

Fourth: Keep in mind that I don't want to spend a lot of money...What else should I do to this sled during my repairs? The only thing I know is that it has new plugs, throttle cable, and fuel lines. Apparently is was running great before it hit the tree.

Fifth: Does anyone know of a website out there that deals with this specific snowmobile or something similar?

Thanks!
Kevin
Old 02-16-2004, 12:56 PM
I Love To Post!

ChoCha is a decent person
Re: Snow mobile help

Originally Posted by 919rider