Wheelies vs. Kneedragging

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2003, 01:47 AM

Joker is an unknown quantity at this point
Wheelies vs. Kneedragging

On another site I am on I got into a friendly debate with a few of the guys about the dangers of wheelies vs carving the corners hard. I've been practicing standups for a couple of months now and once I got past the point of getting up high enough to ride them out a bit I noticed that I feel pretty safe up there. I know anything can happen and all that jazz but a nice wheelie on a nice straight road is less scary than riding through a corner at double or triple the speed limit to me. I get out and hit the twisties as much as I can but I find myself more and more apt to spend a doing wheelies than burning through corners.

Anyway, the debate was about whether wheelies or corner carving were more dangerous. To make it fair I want to use resonably skilled riders as the basis for both sides of the argument. Obviously a newbie who wants to do wheelies his first week is not a good example for safety and shouldn't be used in this argument. Just the same as a newbie tearing up some country roads would not be a good example for the cornering bunch. So we are talking about riders who took the time to learn either skill correctly.

My side of the argument said that wheelies were in fact not more dangerous than hitting the twisties and that hitting the twisties might be more dangerous. To come to that conclusion I figured in less than ideal road conditions, slippery corners etc. I also used my own experience that has showed me way more people going down that I was riding with in the corners and the basic fact that once a week on most motorcycle forums there is at least one lowside or highside crash.