Big Sprocket + Long Distance = ?

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2009, 02:53 PM
The Jew!

A-BX will become famous soon enoughA-BX will become famous soon enough
Big Sprocket + Long Distance = ?

I had a question about riding for a long distance with a big sprocket. I have an 01 F4i with a 60 tooth sprocket. Most of my riding is done in the lot and on the streets, but I was wondering if, and how bad it is for the engine when you take a long ride on the highway for over 40 miles straight?

I'm going to be without a car for a few days and its 45 miles to work each way for me. I have never rode my bike for a long distance because its always been unnecessary and I always thought that the bigger sprocket is bad for the engine on long distances. I'm not a mechanic and don't know that much besides minor mechanical fixes i.e. brakes, oil change, minor sh*t etc so any feedback is appreciated. Thanks!
Old 04-15-2009, 03:00 PM

chpsk8er630 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Big Sprocket + Long Distance = ?

It's fine. Ppl that are on a race track ride close to the rev limiter for long periods of time. I take my bike on long rides all the time when I have the chance to a couple hundred miles at a time. It's perfectly fine. That's what the bike is made to do.
Old 04-15-2009, 03:02 PM
myspace.com/dustindstunts

secret weapon will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by A-BX
I had a question about riding for a long distance with a big sprocket. I have an 01 F4i with a 60 tooth sprocket. Most of my riding is done in the lot and on the streets, but I was wondering if, and how bad it is for the engine when you take a long ride on the highway for over 40 miles straight?