klr650 motard conversion ???

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2009, 08:23 AM

BON3Z is a decent person
klr650 motard conversion ???

Hi all i'm new to the stunting scene been riding bikes since i was a kid but never attempted stunting, well seriously at least.

I'm looking at a few different bikes a a starter platform but with real world useability(klr650,sv650,fz400,gsr600,ninja 250r)

I'm quite keen on taking a klr 650 and converting it to a motard as living in south africa we don't really have many cheap as chips bikes like you guys seem to have in the states etc. and its really cheap has decent torque and spares are not a problem (cheap and available everywhere over here) obviously i plan on improving the way the motor performs lighter fly wheel ,performance pipe and basic gearing,fuelling etc.
reason i'm posting this thread is to find out if anyone has done something tlike this and if anyone knows of any other problems i might encounter have heard that they spit oil out the airbox if held up for extended periods and that the forks are not up to scratch for endos/stoppies etc. will be upgrading the brakes so not really worried about the bite or feel that i can adjust if neccessary.

if anyone has a opinion about this idea i would be eager to hear it and any suggestions will help me make my final decision thanks for your time well anyone who actually read this essay i call a thread
Old 01-30-2009, 08:44 AM

dogger is a decent person
Re: klr650 motard conversion ???

it can be done however the honda xr650 (little lighter and more power and as reliable) in the platform of choice when it comes to jap bikes. it'll be a little harder to find part's for the kawi to convert to motard. if you can find a drz they make good motards as well they are very reliable but are not super powerful.