Reasons for bike swaying during sit-downs?

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2008, 02:04 AM

bman2u is an unknown quantity at this point
Reasons for bike swaying during sit-downs?

For the record, I am fairly new to stunting and am still learning the basics. Riding 30 mins North of Boston on the border of NH. Haven't really mastered BP and obviously haven't started slowing em down yet, but I'm getting there. I'm covering the brake and my throttle control has definitely come a long way. I've got a sprocketed F4 with a powers cage and had just thrown some woodcraft clip-ons on after hacking the **** out of my upper before my last ride. Because it's my first post, I thought the intro should be included.

Last weekend, pulled into the lot with a couple of buddies and made a couple of passes doing some 2nd gear sitdowns and stand-ups. Came around and snapped up a sitdown close to what seemed to be BP, but not quite there and I noticed that the bike began to sway left to right. I put it down and shrugged it off. On my next pass, did another sit-down, and this one felt like it was higher, and the bike began to sway back and forth pretty hardcore. Before I new it, I was rolling on the ground and my bike had slid about 20 ft. Cage took a pretty good beating, I bent a clip-on and dented the rim, but a small price to pay for what I would say a 35-40 mph duff.

Doing stand-ups, I have never had an issue with the bike wobbling or swaying, but with these higher than normal sitdowns (for me at least), I ended up eating ****.