Wire Harness Routing

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2008, 01:52 AM

pixel 6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Wire Harness Routing

Man, I'm just full of questions.

Ok, so my new one... and I've given this a bunch of thought. (Keep in mind I'm an audio engineer by trade, so I'm very handy with a soldering gun, and am not worried about that part...)

MY QUESTION:
Is it reasonable to snip all the leads from my wiring harness that run to my instrument cluster, and solder in an extra foot of length to the wires so that I can keep the harness under the tank, and just have one sealed up (heat shrink tubing) strand running up to the tach/speedo?

There's about 20 wires there, So I was thinking of getting a few different colors of matching gauge wire.

Then I'd snip say 4 wires... going down the line a bit further, snipping 4 more wires etc. That way after I solder, and put the heat sink tubing on, my final wrap won't have some big knot in it where all the wires were cut at once...

So basically, I'd keep down the line so that my work is along the entire length of the strand, rather than in 1 spot. God, how do I explain that... Ooh... here...

So the wires would be cut staggered like this:
lllll
llll
l lll
ll ll
lll l
llll
lllll

And not straight across like this:
lllll
lllll

lllll
lllll

PICS:
This is where I mounted my cluster. There is room there to plug in the harness, and still be able to access every screw from the back while it is mounted to the cross support.

OK
So all in all, what I'm trying to accomplish, is to take this huge harness that was designed to be hidden by the front plastics, and hide it under the tank so that only minimal lines are routed to the electronics.

How do you guys do this normally? Any pics? I like my idea, but just want to make sure I'm not setting myself up for problems later.