Pointers from various sponsors.

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2007, 10:57 PM

excessa has much to be proud ofexcessa has much to be proud ofexcessa has much to be proud ofexcessa has much to be proud ofexcessa has much to be proud ofexcessa has much to be proud ofexcessa has much to be proud ofexcessa has much to be proud ofexcessa has much to be proud of
Pointers from various sponsors.

I can offer you guys the same suggestions I got. Before some hater pops out with what a crappy businesswoman I am, know that I am thinking long term, and I'm in it partially for the money and partially to do something I love for a living.

The sponsors are interested in competitive performance, and exposure, but their cheif complaint was the pro racers concentrate solely on that aspect of their characters. They don't mention what else, if anything, they do for a living. They don't mention their community involvement or other interests. And these things are also important. Not because the sponsors all need new friends, either.

They want a glimpse at the individual and his character. A deal where someone lends their company name to you is huge, they risk their reputation on your behavior. It's good to find a way to express to the sponsor you're "courting" that you recognize and value their image, and demonstrate that you actually know what image they are trying to project. (ie, blah blah incorporated has a long history of sponsoring athletes who are good role models, which is why I am petitioning to represent your company. I believe strongly that my professional conduct and strong values will reflect well on your committment to setting a high standard for professional athletes")

Some companies, if not all, expect you to have a clean record and to keep it clean.

Even the more urban/street type companies, at least the big ones, expect to see that you know the difference between your hard image, and your personal conduct.