A burnt smell coming from my engine...

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2003, 04:35 PM

wspol00 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question A burnt smell coming from my engine...

First off i want to say this is a really cool website!!

I am fairly new to stunting but i am practicing stand ups a lot. I do get close to 12 oclock wheelies but not quite there yet(not dragging the back yet!!) i have a 2000 zx-6r, and once after riding a stand-up i smelled this burning type of smell(like burned engine.??) i have no clue what it was but when i got off the bike and tried to smell where it was coming from, it seemed it was coming from the engine. Anyone else ever experience something like that? I do have plenty of oil, but was wondering if it is possible that when i was riding the stand-up all the oil went to the bottom of the oil pan??and there was no oil to lubricate the cylinders?? I am totally confused and don't know what that f^ck it was. if anyone knows or has imput i would appreciated it.
thanks,

ws
Old 05-14-2003, 04:51 PM

hayez is an unknown quantity at this point
were you clutching it up?maybe you burnt your clutch up a bit
Old 05-14-2003, 05:29 PM
Guru

Joe Brown is an unknown quantity at this point
burnt smell

if it smells like burnt plastic the zx6 has a problem with the plug from the stator follow the wires comming from the stator and when you find the plug they melt sometime check it out
Old 05-14-2003, 07:26 PM

Insane02GIXXER is an unknown quantity at this point
If it is a plastic smell it may be your rectifier. which is usually under your seat which can make it seem like its commin from your engine. There are so many different types os smells, plastic, oil, electric, you gotta narrow it down!
Old 05-15-2003, 11:50 AM

NCLR1 is an unknown quantity at this point