handbrake problem...

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2007, 07:36 PM

ct954 is an unknown quantity at this point
handbrake problem...

I have a 13mm magura radial master. I rode today and it was fine at first them as the day went on it started sticking. The foot brake was fine. Just when i squeezed the handbrake it wouldn't release the caliper. After a few seconds it would release. But when i use the foot brake its fine. What could cause this to stick. It can't be the caliper cause it would do it with the foot brake. Would air in the line do this???? Thanks
Old 03-11-2007, 07:39 PM
What happened to my blox?

stock05 is infamous around these parts
Re: handbrake problem...

Originally Posted by ct954
I have a 13mm magura radial master. I rode today and it was fine at first them as the day went on it started sticking. The foot brake was fine. Just when i squeezed the handbrake it wouldn't release the caliper. After a few seconds it would release. But when i use the foot brake its fine. What could cause this to stick. It can't be the caliper cause it would do it with the foot brake. Would air in the line do this???? Thanks

sounds like your overheating your brakes

-mexican mayhem
Old 03-11-2007, 07:41 PM

try changing your fluid to DOT 5.1 and not dragging your brakes

-mexican mayhem
Old 03-11-2007, 07:52 PM

Its all new fluid. Rbf600.. I just read in another post that in the master there is a return for the fluid to release. Its probably clogged... It was my first time with this new setup. Must of had crud in the line...Its only when i use the hand brake. It releases after a few seconds, just slowly. When i use the footbrake its fine. I think the master is clogged inside...
Old 03-11-2007, 07:53 PM

Boiling brake fluid won't make it stick. It would make it not work at all....Its not from dragging the brake cause it did the same when it was in the garage, cold..
Old 03-11-2007, 07:57 PM