Another Sprocket ? (sorry)

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2006, 03:25 PM

XSteveDiesX is an unknown quantity at this point
Another Sprocket ? (sorry)

Ive been reading this site a lot lately and Im lovin the good advice. Im new to the sport, went to quite a few stunt shows this summer and have been reading up on it. So now that I have the means to buy a bike that I can use solely for stunting, I have a few questions (sorry if theyve been answered a million times)

1. What sprocket size? Ive read a lot on here but im not 100% sure on what exactly I need to do. I want to still be able to ride with all my friends (I dont care about the highway I have another bike for that) up and through town (maybe max speed of 70 or 75?) And I want to be able to ride a lot in parking lots since thats what ill mainly be doing. So what ive gathered from here is I should go up maybe 10 in the rear?

2. What cage do you reccomend (i will mostly likely be buying an 01 Gixxer 6) Ive been looking and FI looks kinda sketchy..SI looks really beefy and I obviously like the price. 905 looks pretty solid.

3. 12 o clock bar? I like SI's 12 bar also, (and of coarse the price) but they all pretty much seem like the same deal to me aside from having to drill on a couple. Are there any major differences between them?

Obviously money is not a huge issue with this stuff because it would cost more to fix a bent frame than spending an extra 50 bucks for a better cage.

Thanks for any help thats offered....
Old 09-27-2006, 03:29 PM

Hazen is a decent person
Re: Another Sprocket ? (sorry)

Most of what you're asking is opinion.

Sprocket - Add 10 teeth to the rear. So if you have a 42, get a 52.

Cage - If it's your first one get something SOLID. MXD, Powers, Sick Innovations.... the Freestyle is just some frame sliders with a hoop. Nice cage, but not for a beginner.